Chancellor Honored at UMass Dartmouth Athletic Banquet

Chancellor MacCormack Honored
Chancellor MacCormack Honored

(Dartmouth, MA) –After 13 years watching award presentations at the annual UMass Dartmouth Athletic Award Banquet, outgoing Chancellor Jean MacCormack left the 46th annual event with some hardware of her own.

Making her final appearance at the annual Athletic Awards Banquet after 13 years as university chancellor, Jean MacCormack was honored with the annual John Frye Athletic Service award. The award is presented annually in recognition of outstanding service to the student-athletes and staff of the Corsair Athletic Department.

 "The student-athletes of UMass Dartmouth owe a debt of gratitude for your support of our athletic program for the last 13 years," said UMass Dartmouth Athletic Director Ian Day while announcing the award for Chancellor MacCormack.

More than 200 awards for both academic and intercollegiate athletic achievement were presented at the annual awards ceremony held Monday night, May 14 at White's of Westport.

Among the major awards presented was the 2012 UMass Dartmouth Senior Scholar-Athlete Award. Senior Alex Klepadlo (Bernardston, MA/Pioneer Valley Regional HS) was this year's recipient of the annual award presented to the senior student-athlete who has demonstrated the highest level of success in both academic and athletic achievement.

A four-year letter winner for the Corsair men's basketball team, Klepadlo had an amazing streak of seven consecutive appearances on the university's Chancellor's List (3.8 GPA on a 4.0 scale) in seven semesters. Klepadlo will graduate this spring with a bachelor's degree in Marketing and a double minor is Finance and Economics.

The Senior Scholar-Athlete Award makes Klepadlo one of the most decorated student-athletes at UMass Dartmouth in the last 10 years. Klepadlo has twice been named the campus recipient of the ECAC/Robbins Men's Scholar Athlete Award.  On the basketball court, Klepadlo was a key player for Coach Brian Baptiste's team starting all 26 games as a senior last season. He averaged more than 26 minutes per game, second best on the team, averaging six points per game.

"He was a leader on and off the court, leading by example mostly and by encouraging his teammates," said Coach Baptiste. "Every team needs an Alex Klepadlo and two or three of them would be even better."

The 2012 ECAC Robbins Male Athlete of the Year award was presented to Nick Hiou (Peabody, MA/Peabody HS), a member of the UMass Dartmouth football team. A junior wide receiver for the Corsair football team, Hiou has been on the Chancellor's List four of his five semesters at UMass Dartmouth. He is a Finance major with a minor in Economics.

Stacey Miner (Greenfield, MA/Greenfield HS) was the winner of the 2012 ECAC Robbins Female Athlete of the Year Award. A six-time member of the Chancellor's List in seven semesters at UMass Dartmouth, Miner was a four-year letter winner and team captain last season for the UMass Dartmouth volleyball team. Miner will graduate this spring with a double major in both Psychology and Sociology.

In addition to awards presented to Corsair student-athletes, several UMass Dartmouth coaches were honored.  Little East Conference Coach of the Year awards were presented to Tom Mendell (men's tennis), Kevin Mahoney (men's lacrosse) and Steve Gardiner (men's indoor track and field), while Little East Conference Sportsmanship Awards were presented to baseball and women's lacrosse.

For a second year in a row, the Corsair women's swim coach received a Collegiate Swim Coaches Association of America Division III Team Scholar All-American Award for their team's academic performance during the fall 2011 semester. Members of the men's and women's cross country teams were also honored by the National Cross Country Coaches Association for the team's academic performance during the past year.

UMass Dartmouth intramurals honored a pair of students with the 2011-12 Bill Gathright Award for Leadership Excellence. This year's awards went to Jean Lacet and Jerrill Ugwunze.


                                 UMASS DARTMOUTH ATHLETICS