Corsairs Place 2nd At Springfield College

Corsairs Place 2nd At Springfield College

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. -- The University of Massachusetts Dartmouth men's outdoor track and field team placed second at the Springfield College Invitational, highlighted this afternoon by four first place finishes.

Worcester State University captured the team title with 158 points, while the Corsairs also reached triple digits with 119 points.  Saint Rose finished third in the 11-team standings, while Westfield State University (88) and Springfield College (83) completed the top-five.

Sophomore Brandon Jarousky (Attleboro, Mass.) won the 200-meter dash race with the fourth fastest time (22.17) in program history, qualifying for the New England Open, Eastern College Athletic Conference, and Division III New England Championships.  Jarousky also placed third in the 400-meter dash (50.84), while senior Matt Hinthorne (Braintree, Mass.) won his heat and finished second overall (50.69).

Junior Jacob Teixeira (Seekonk, Mass.) was the first runner to cross the finish line in the 400-meter hurdles, covering the course in 56.47 seconds. 

Senior Zach Switaj (Tamworth, N.H.) was second in the 800-meter run, when he crossed the finish line at two minutes, 00.67 seconds.  Freshman Chris Cennami (Peabody, Mass.) tripped the timer at 11.16 seconds to win his preliminary heat and place fourth overall with the ninth lowest time in program history.

Freshman Kevin Cutler (Attleboro, Mass.) cleared 1.98 meters (6-06.00) to capture the high jump event to eclipse the ECAC and Division III New England Championship standards.  Senior Brett Croteau (Rehoboth, Mass.) unleashed a throw of 56.95 meters (186-10) to stand atop the podium in the javelin. 

Freshman Greg Betsold (Turners Falls, Mass.) placed fifth in the hammer throw (41.56 meters, 136-04), while junior Cody Lusas (Melrose, Mass.) was fifth in the discus (40.85m, 134-00) and sixth in the shot put (13.64m, 44-09.00).

UMass Dartmouth will return to action on Saturday, April 26, when the Corsairs host the New England Alliance and Little East Conference Championships.