Jenna Lahaie Earns Third-Straight LEC First Team Singles Honor

Jenna Lahaie Earns Third-Straight LEC First Team Singles Honor

PAWTUCKET, R.I. – For the third-straight season, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth junior Jenna Lahaie (Lakeville, Mass.) has been named First Team All-Little East Conference, headlining the 2017 Women’s Tennis conference awards for the Corsairs.

Lahaie earned a spot on the First Team in singles and landed on the Second Team in doubles, this year with partner Jaime Fastino (Rehoboth, Mass.), who makes the All-Conference lists for the second-straight year.

Since her LEC Rookie of the Year season in 2015, Lahaie has held down the top singles spot for UMass Dartmouth head coach Doug Chapman. This fall, the junior played at No. 1 for the Corsairs in every match, finishing with a 12-3 record and 6-2 slate in LEC competition to up her career singles record to 30-16. Lahaie’s season opened with a seven-match win streak, including three-set wins over St. Joseph’s Lucy Roberge and Bridgewater State’s Alisha Silva. After falling to Salem State’s Madeline Allaire and LEC Player of the Year, RIC’s Dayna Reilly, she finished off the year with five-straight wins. Most recently, Lahaie picked up her second victory of the season over fellow All-Conference honoree Silva in the LEC Semifinals, to the tune of 7-6 (7-3), 6-0.

At No. 1 doubles, Lahaie and sophomore Fastino teamed together in 11 matches, accumulating a 7-4 record. The duo paired together for every LEC match, picking up a 4-3 slate with victories over Worcester State, Bridgewater State, Salem State and Plymouth State. In last Thursday’s semifinal, Fastino and Lahaie took a crucial point over Bridgewater State’s Silva and Amanda Strickland, closing the season with an 8-5 victory.

UMass Dartmouth maintained its winning tradition in the 2017 fall season, posting a 10-5 overall record for the program’s fourth 10-plus win season in the past five years. With a 6-2 league record, the Corsairs secured the No. 2 seed for the LEC Tournament, their highest seeding since 2012, before slipping to No. 3 seed Bridgewater State 5-4 in the semifinal match.