Corsair Hall of Fame Induction Set for October 14th

Corsair Hall of Fame Induction Set for October 14th

Sept. 28, 2011

(Dartmouth, MA) -- The UMass Dartmouth Corsair Hall of Fame will celebrate its 24th anniversary on Friday, October 14, 2011 at Rachel's Lakeside in Dartmouth when the Class of 2011 will be honored at the annual induction ceremonies.

The Corsair Hall of Fame Class of 2011 includes a pair of coaching legends along with an NCAA All-America cross country runner and the first standout player from one of the Corsairs' newest sports. The annual team induction for 2011 will honor a team which featured three individual Corsair Hall of Famers on the roster. Former coaches Bill Kavanaugh and Barbara Carreiro will be inducted along with Helder Braz and Emily Valorz plus the 1989-90 men's swimming and diving team.

The 2011 Corsair Hall of Fame kicks off UMass Dartmouth's 2011 Alumni, Family and Friends Weekend. The Hall of Fame ceremony includes a social hour at 6:30 pm followed by dinner and the induction ceremony. Reservations are \$40 per person and must be made in advance of the event by calling Trudy Costa in the UMass Dartmouth Athletic Department at (508) 999-8720. No tickets will be sold at the door.

The inductees in the Class of 2011 include:

-Former head football coach Bill Kavanaugh, who during his 17 years with the Corsairs posted a 104-64 record and is the longest serving football coach in program history. Kavanaugh led a pair of Corsair football teams to New England Football Conference championships including his 2002 team which posted a perfect 11-0 record and earned UMass Dartmouth's first berth into the NCAA Division III Tournament. Kavanaugh's Corsairs were also NEFC co-champions in 1994 when UMass Dartmouth was selected to play in the ECAC North-West Championship game, the first post-season appearance by a UMass Dartmouth football team. Kavanaugh was a three-time NEFC Coach of the Year.

-Barbara Carreiro is being honored by the Corsair Hall of Fame for her contributions to the development of the women's sports programs at then Southeastern Massachusetts University (SMU). In the earliest years of the passage of Title IX and the birth of the Corsairs' field hockey program, Carreiro took over in the team's second year of existence and in a brief four-year period she developed a program known throughout the New England region. Her 1976 field hockey team was inducted into the Corsair Hall of Fame in 2006. Carreiro has remained active in her sport as a leading official and assignor for a variety of collegiate conferences and is active in the US Field Hockey Association.

-A 1986 graduate of Southeastern Massachusetts University, Helder Braz was part of a long line of outstanding cross country talent produced by Corsair Hall of Fame Coach Bob Dowd. Braz was a four-year runner for the Corsairs and his career was marked by honors ranging from All-New England, All-East and All-New England Division III. He earned national distinction in the fall of 1985 when he placed 25th at the NCAA Division III Cross Country Championships, earning All-America honors while leading his team to an 11th place finish that season.

-Emily Valorz is the first former UMass Dartmouth women's lacrosse player to be inducted into the Corsair Hall of Fame. Women's lacrosse debuted as a varsity sport in 1998 and from 1999 through 2002; Valorz went about setting almost every offensive scoring record in the program's brief history. She remains the only three-time team Most Valuable Player in the 14-year history of the team. She was also the Corsairs' first Little East Conference all-star and was a second team All-New England Women's Lacrosse selection as a senior. She started every game in which she played throughout her four-year career and returned to the program after graduation to serve as an assistant coach for several seasons.

The 1989 SMU Men's Swimming and Diving Team is the 2011 team honoree by the Corsair Hall of Fame. Coached by Jim Filippo, this team had three individual Division III All Americans (Ian Toal, Mark McIlquham, and Tom Eagan plus Hall of Fame nominee Rich Daniello) as well as two All-American relay teams. Members of the team currently hold 15 of the 23 school records and five pool records. At the NEISDA championship in 1990, the 200 yard freestyle relay team was the New England champion with a meet and current school record. At the 1990 NCAA Championships, SMU placed 20th overall with a pair of 10ths, an 11th, and two 12th place finishes. On the diving side, Eagan won the first two of his six Division III All -America honors in the one- and three-meter competitions as part of the team.