Terry Corcoran
Title: Head Coach
Phone: 508-999-9179
Email: tcorcoran@umassd.edu

Terry Corcoran, a two-time USILA Division III National Coach of the Year, was named the fourth head coach of the Corsair men's lacrosse program in August 2016.

Corcoran brings 37 years of collegiate lacrosse coaching experience to UMass Dartmouth, including 34 as a head coach, from seven different institutions.  He sports a career record of 279-204 (.578) to rank eighth on the NCAA Division III all-time active wins list and 22nd among all three lacrosse divisions. Corcoran has led 11 programs to the NCAA Division III tournament, including four appearances in the national championship game with Washington College.  

Most recently, Corcoran served as the head coach at Wabash College in Crawfordsville, Ind., where he oversaw the Little Giants’ 2015 inaugural season. In just two seasons, Corcoran recruited 26 student-athletes, developed Wabash’s first two All-North Coast Athletic Conference honorees, and raised the win total by four.

Prior to his time at Wabash, Corcoran was the head coach at Elizabethtown College for eight seasons, compiling a 71-52 overall record. In 2010, the Blue Jays saw unprecedented success as Elizabethtown earned its first appearance in the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA) rankings and captured the Middle Atlantic Conference regular season championship. The hallmark of Corcoran’s teams was a strong defensive presence, evidenced by earning the NCAA team statistical champion award in 2007 for man-down defense (five goals in 48 attempts) and two years later as the top defensive squad (5.6 goals per game). A tremendous recruiter, Corcoran mentored the program’s first two All-Americans, first two Scholar All-Americans and three MAC Players of the Year.

From 1996 to 2005, Corcoran successfully rebuilt and sustained the men’s lacrosse program at Skidmore College. In 1999, the Thoroughbreds achieved the program’s first winning season, and by 2001 were appearing in the USILA rankings. In 2005, Corcoran led Skidmore to its most successful season with a 13-3 overall record, Liberty League championship title, appearance in the NCAA Division III quarterfinals, and finished the season ranked No. 14. The Thoroughbreds’ success rewarded Corcoran with his second USILA Division III Coach of the Year award, in addition to Liberty League Coach of the Year honors. While at Skidmore, Corcoran coached six All-Americans and produced four North-South Senior All-Star Game players.

Corcoran began his head coaching career at Washington College in 1982, where he produced an overall record of 125-55 and a .694 winning percentage over 12 seasons. Under his watch, the Shoremen reached four NCAA Division III national championship games and made 10 NCAA tournament appearances. Forty-eight of Corcoran’s Washington College players were named Division III All-Americans, including two Attackmen of the Year, two Midfielders of the Year, two Defensemen of the Year, three Goalies of the Year and one Division III Player of the Year. Following the 1985 season in which the Shoremen went 13-3, Corcoran earned his first USILA Division III Coach of the Year accolade. Washington College inducted him into its Athletics Hall of Fame in 2010.

Before entering the Division III realm, Corcoran was an assistant coach at Princeton during the 1982 season, helping the Tigers to a second-place Ivy League finish. Between his time at Washington and Skidmore, he was the head coach at the University of Pennsylvania for two seasons, rebuilding the Quakers’ program with 22 recruits and three All-Ivy League players.

Corcoran is a 1978 graduate of Hobart College, where he was a three-time All-American and led the Statesmen to the NCAA Championship in 1977. In his senior season, he led the nation in scoring with 99 points on 48 goals and 55 goals to earn the prestigious USILA Division II-III Attackman of the Year. He was inducted into the Hobart Hall of Fame in 1992.

Corcoran is an active USILA member, having served as a past Vice President and Chairman of the Division III All-American committee.