Awards Presented at Annual Athletic Banquet

Awards Presented at Annual Athletic Banquet

(WESTPORT, MA) – More than 200 awards for athletic and academic achievement along with a host of special presentations highlighted the 47th annual UMass Dartmouth Athletic Awards Banquet held Monday night, April 29 at White's of Westport.

The most prestigious award of the evening was the annual Senior Scholar-Athlete Award presented annually to the top graduating student-athlete. The 2013 award was presented to Nick Hiou (Peabody, MA/Peabody HS), a senior football player, who will graduate this spring as a Finance major with an Economics minor. The winner of the top male scholar athlete award as a junior last year, Hiou earned a four-year letter award, was a member of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, and was recognized as a Capital One District One Academic All-District Selection. While earning Chancellor's List distinction (3.8 GPA or higher on a 4.0 scale) in six of seven semesters on campus, Hiou was also the Corsairs' third-leading receiver this season with 22 catches for 156 yards.

"Nick is an exceptional young man," said UMass Dartmouth Head Football Coach Mark Robichaud. "He has been an excellent representative of his family, UMass Dartmouth and our football program for the last four years. It has been an honor to coach such a fine student-athlete."

Also receiving top awards were Kathleen Landers (Danvers, MA/Danvers HS) and Matt Bejtlich (Rochester, MA/Moses Brown HS), UMass Dartmouth's nominees for the ECAC Robbins Scholar-Athlete Award this year.  Landers is a junior women's soccer player majoring in English-Writing Communication and Rhetoric. She had a 3.83 grade point average entering the spring semester, while starting 53 of 56 games in the past three years.  She has been elected team captain for three consecutive seasons. Bejtlich is a junior men's tennis player majoring in Electrical Engineering with a 3.98 GPA heading into the spring semester.  A three-year letter winner for the Corsairs, Bejtlich has twice earned All-Little East Conference honors while earning Chancellor's List honors in each of his first five semesters on campus.

In addition to the top academic and athletic awards, a pair of Corsair teams were honored during the event.  Women's track and field received an NCAA Division III Team Academic honor, while women's swimming and diving also received a similar national Scholar Al-American Team honor.

Christine Kaylor received the athletic department's annual John Frye Service Award recognizing her support of the student-athletes in her capacity as the interim registrar.  Members of the women's tennis team made a special presentation to their coach, Ralph Perry, who announced his retirement from coaching earlier this year.

UMass Dartmouth Intramurals honored senior Nicholas Congdon (Essex, MA) with the 2012-13 Bill Gathright Award for Leadership Excellence for his work organizing the indoor soccer intramural program. 

                                                            UMASS DARTMOUTH ATHLETICS