Men Take First, Women Fifth for UMass Dartmouth Cross Country at WNEU Invitational

Men Take First, Women Fifth for UMass Dartmouth Cross Country at WNEU Invitational

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – The University of Massachusetts Dartmouth cross country squads put forth top-tier performances at the Western New England Invitational on Saturday, with the Corsair men clinching the team title and the women fifth place at WNEU's campus.

The Basics

Men: 1st of 14 teams (61 points)
Women: 5th of 11 teams (128 points)

How it Happened

Freshman Bruno Pires (New Bedford, Mass.) came in second overall in the race out of the 106 total runners to compete at Western New England University. His time of 26:28 placed him just ahead of teammate Jason Karakaedos (Peabody, Mass.), who came in at 26:41 for a pace of 5:22. Wrapping up third in personal-best fashion was Travis Dolcine (Brockton, Mass.), placing eighth overall with his time of 27:52.

For the men, all Corsairs finished within the top-28 of the 8K race, earning UMass Dartmouth the team title. The victory is the first for the men since Sept. 24, 2016 at the Codfish Bowl in Franklin Park at Boston, Mass.

In the women's 5K, teammates Taylor Walsh (Groveland, Mass.) and Victoria Spitaels (West newton, Mass.) finished just 10 seconds apart, placing 10th and 12th respectively, with times of 26:55 and 27:05. Hannah Landry (Billerica, Mass.) came in 28th place out of the 98 competitors, crossing the finish line at 29:01.

The women's 5th place finish is their highest since their first meet of the season when they tied for runner-up on Sept. 2 at the Jim Sheehan Memorial Invitational on the campus of Fitchburg State University.

Up Next

The men's and women's cross-country teams will next race in Gorham, Maine on Saturday, Oct. 28 at noon in the Little East Conference Championships.

Corsair Results


2nd: Bruno Pires – 26:28

3rd: Jason Karakaedos – 26:41

8th: Travis Dolcine – 27:52

21st: Brandon DeSilva – 28:43

27th: Timothy Post – 29:10

28th: Tyree Gorham – 29:12


10th: Taylor Walsh – 26:55

12th: Victoria Spitaels – 27:05

28th: Hannah Landry – 29:01

40th: Christina Ruiz – 29:47

58th: Stephanie Brogdon – 32:12

65th: Jennifer Jackson – 32:51

77th: Amber Cyr – 34:03

78th: Melissa Goodwin – 34:49