UMass Dartmouth Cross Country Competes at NCAA Division III New England Regional

UMass Dartmouth Cross Country Competes at NCAA Division III New England Regional

GORHAM, Maine – The University of Massachusetts Dartmouth cross country squads wrapped up the 2017 season on Saturday, as 12 Corsairs competed amongst the best of the region at the 2017 NCAA Division III New England Regional Championship, hosted by the University of Southern Maine.

The Basics

Men's Team: 26th of 55 Teams (777 Points)
Women's Team: 37th of 56 Teams (1060 Points)

How it Happened

For the seventh occasion in as many events this season, the duo of junior Jason Karakaedos (Peabody, Mass.) and freshman Bruno Pires (New Bedford, Mass.) were the top finishers for the men in the 8K run. Karakaedos completed the race in 26:22 minutes for 48th place out of the 370 runners. In his first race since being named LEC Rookie Runner of the Year, Pires finished in 26:38 minutes to earn sixty-eight points for the Corsairs. Sophomore Travis Dolcine (Somerville, Mass.) used 28:41 minutes to complete the run, placing 169th overall and third for the squad.

Plymouth State's Sam Brunnette (Newport, Vt.) was crowned the victor of the event, averaging 5:06.4 per mile and completing the race in 25:22 minutes total.

In the women's 6K run, sophomore Jessica O'Reilly (Somerville, Mass.) was the first Corsair to cross the finish line, needing exactly twenty-four minutes to complete the race. Freshman Taylor Walsh (Groveland, Mass.) followed twenty-four seconds later, placing 177th out of 393 competitors. Sophomore Victoria Spitaels (West Newton, Mass.) was the next to contribute to the Corsairs' scoring after crossing the finish line in a total time of 24:44.

The first place overall finisher was Coast Guard freshman Kaitlyn Mooney (Manahawkin, N.J.), who completed the 6K in 20:22 minutes.

Corsair Results


48th – Jason Karakaedos: 26:22.1
68th – Bruno Pires: 26:38.1
169th – Travis Dolcine: 28:41.8
239th – Timothy Post: 30:04.8
268th – Tyree Gorham: 31:03.4


157th – Jessica O'Reilly: 24:00.6
177th – Taylor Walsh: 24:24.9
206th – Victoria Spitaels: 24:44.4
255th – Kirstie Harnden: 25:26.4
283rd – Hannah Landry: 25:50.1
322nd – Christina Ruiz: 26:57.8
363rd – Stephanie Brogdon: 29:41.4